Found on the Mobile Web 181

Canon Review Mobile Site

Found on the Mobile Web is a weekly WAP Review feature listing newly added and updated sites on the YesWAP.com mobile portal and WapReview mobile site directory. With these latest additions the directory and portal now list 1922 mobile sites.

Shopping

Canon Mobile Reviews m.usa.canon.com User reviews of Canon products including cameras, printers, binoculars, copiers, scanners and fax machines.
Content: **** Usability: XXXX

Technology/Internet

webmove's Mobile View

webmove.org m.webmove.org Webmove is a blog covering new  mashups and content on the web with an emphasis on free, legal music downloads. Mobile view by Mobify
Content: **** Usability: XXXX

Travel-Transit/Destination Guides

Alpharetta, GA CVB www.awesomealpharetta.mobi From the Alpharetta, Georgia Convention & Visitors Bureau comes this guide to hotels, restaurants and shopping in the Atlanta suburb. The guide is basically just a list of establishments with click to call numbers. I'd like to see this fleshed out with other information about the businesses such as descriptions, street address and hours. Source: Mobility.mobi
Content: *** Usability: XXXX

News/International/Canada

Alpharetta CVB Mobile Site

Canada.com m.canada.com Canadian newspapers dominate this week's edition of Found on The Mobile Web thanks to big Canadian media conglomerate CanWest which last week rolled out a redesigned mobile version of its flagship online news portal Canada.com and ten daily newspapers.

All the CanWest sites use the same basic template which features live sports scores and the full text and selected news photos from over 100 news items from Canada.com' s national and international news, sports, entertainment, business and technology sections.

The individual newspaper sites also include extensive local news coverage and current and long range local weather  forecasts.

Canada.com Mobile

In a press release announcing the new mobile sites, CanWest says that they are optimized for smartphones and specifically mentions the iPhone and Blackberries. It looks like there are two different versions of the CanWest sites, an 81 KB iPhone/Android layout and a simpler 50 KB one for all other phones.

The sites work well on the targeted devices.  However the 50 KB pages will be an issue for many feature phone users whose handsets will be unable to load these sites. Most news sites offer a mobile version under 20 KB for non-smartphones.
Content: **** Usability: XXX

The individual CanWest newspaper sites are:

Montreal Gazzette Mobile Site

Vancouver Sun m.vancouversun.com

Calgary Herald m.calgaryherald.com

Edmonton Journal m.edmontonjournal.com

Regina Leader-Post m.leaderpost.com

The Saskatoon StarPhoenix m.thestarphoenix.com

Ottawa Citizen m.ottawacitizen.com

Montreal Gazette m.montrealgazette.com

Victoria Times Colonist m.timescolonist.com

The Vancouver Province m.theprovince.com

Windsor Star m.windsorstar.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *