Latest UC Browser 9.5 (Signed Java Version) Modified to Remove the Virtual Keypad On Samsung, LG and Other Touchscreen Phones

UC 91 With Virtual Keypad UC 91 Without Virtual Keypad

I did a post a while ago explaining how to modify Opera Mini's jad file to hide the unneeded touch keypad that displays at the bottom of the screen on some touchscreen phones. The post included a link to the modified Opera Mini. I received a request asking for a copy of the latest signed Java version of UC Browser modified to hide the keypad.

The process for modifying the UC Browser or any other Java app is exactly the same as what was described in the original post:

1.Download the app's jad file to a PC. You can get UC Browser jad files (signed or unsigned ) at http://www.ucweb.com/ucbrowser/download/

2. Open the downloaded .jad with a text editor or Windows Wordpad

3. Scroll to the bottom of the file and paste in the following lines:

Nokia-MIDlet-No-Exit: true
Nokia-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
Navi-Key-Hidden: true
UseNativeTextButtons: hide
ReverseSoftkeys: hide
UseNativeCommands: hide
MIDlet-Touch-Support: true
MIDlet-ScreenMode: ROTATE
MIDlet-Landscape-Support: true
LGE-MIDlet-Width: 240
LGE-MIDlet-Height: 400
LGE-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
LGE-MIDlet-Display-Mode: both
ATT-MIDlet-VirtualKeypad-Use: No

4. Upload the file to Dropbox.com or another file sharing service that is easy to use in your phone browser. Click here to get a free 2GB Dropbox account (by using this referral link I get an extra 250 MB of storage in my Dropbox which I thank you for).

5. Visit Dropbox with your phone browser and click the modified mini.jad link to download it to your phone.

If that didn't work or you don't have a PC or are just in a hurry, here's are links to the latest signed version of the UC browser as well as some older versions.

Latest Version

UC Browser 9.5 (20-Jul-2014) The latest UC Browser release. According to UC, new features are:

  • Fixed the problem of large file sizes not being shown correctly when downloading;
  • Fixed the problem of users not being able to go to the right page by typing a page number on UC Forum.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.5 jad at:
boostapps.com/files/UC95s.jad  (Boostapps.com is a free Java ME app store that I built. I will be hosting my Java downloads there instead of WapReview.com to avoid duplication and save disk space)
Short Link: is.gd/uc95touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc95touch with your phone's browser.

Older Versions:

UC Browser 9.4 (16-Nov-2013) The latest "full" UC Browser release. According to UC, new features are: watching Youtube now is supported on more phone models, the problem of automatically logging-out from some websites has been solved, smaller app size for a faster startup speed, and touch-screen phone models can now preview uploaded pictures Download the modified UC Browser 9.4 jad at:

wapreview.com/dwnld/uc94ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc94touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc94touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 9.3 (24-Sept-2013) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. According to UC, the new features in this version are: a smaller install package,  user interface changes, increased stability and two new themes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.3 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/uc93ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc93touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc93touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 9.2 (5-Aug-2013) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features: smaller file Size, optimized night mode, new hot words search, password saving on HTTPS webpages is now supported.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.2 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UC92ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc92ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc92ts with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 9.1 (25-Jun-2013) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: bitmap fonts let you read  pages in Arabic, Persian, Urdu, and Hindi, even if your phone doesn't support these languages, support for the Bengali language , support for  eMule and FTP downloads  and bug fixes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.1 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UCBrowser_V9.1.0.291_Java_pf70_(Build13062018).jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc91ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc91ts with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 9.0 (25-Apr-2013) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: Fast Video and Audio Playing using the UDisk cloud service,  password manager works on more sites including Facebook and GMail,  improved usability especially on touch screen phones and bug fixes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.0 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UCBrowser_V9.0.0.260_Java_pf70_(Build13042317).jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc90ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc90ts with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 8.9 (29-Jan-2012) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: Incognito Browsing, Improved Search Bar, Select and Copy and Optimized Text Input

Download the modified UC Browser 8.9 jad at:
dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.9.0.251_Java_pf70_%28Build13012415%29.jad

Short Link: is.gd/uc89touch To install, go to is.gd/uc89touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 8.8 (25-Dec-2012) Another "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: increased download speed, customizable shortcut keys and an improved File Manager.

Download the modified UC Browser 8.8 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.8.1.252_Java_pf70_%28Build12122410%29.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc88touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc88touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 8.7 (7-Nov-2012) This is a "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: users can switch between multiple accounts when signing in to a website, long press the OK button to invoke the Actions menu, users can save pages directly without changing the page name.

Download the modified UC Browser 8.7 jad at:
dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.7.0.218_Java_pf70_%28Build12110609%29.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc87touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc87touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 8.6. (20-Sept-2012): This is a "full (non-cloud) UC Browser release.  New features in this release are: full offline download support with synchronous status shown in the download manager, you can now preview the images before uploading,  "clear all history" option before exiting UC Browser added, new options to disable the virtual keyboard, faster uploads  and display of the upload speed in KB/sec while uploading. This version uses the new user interface from the cloud version with different menus for touch screen and non touch screen phones

Download the modified UC Browser 8.6 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.6.0.199_Java_pf70_%28Build12092011%29.jad
Short link: is.gd/uc860touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc860touch with your phone browser.

UC Cloud Browser 8.5 (6-Sept-2012): This is first non-Beta version of the UC Cloud Browser, a redesign of the original UC browser optimized for smaller download size and faster page loads.   New features in this release are: new user interface with different menus for touch screen and non touch screen phones. Supports copy and paste in the URL bar and all input fields. New screen brightness setting. New share image on Facebook feature. New Game Center free game download store.

I've posted the modified UC Cloud Browser 8.5 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.5.0.185_Java_pf83_%28Build12082909%29.jad
Short link: is.gd/uc85touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc85touch with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.4 (23-Jul-2012):. Major changes are: simplified theme installation, the traffic statistics display is back, the link to browsing history has been moved to the top of the bookmarks page and a there's a new Tools > Phone menu option for making phone call or send a texts from within the browser. See my review for more about 8.4: UC Browser 8.4 for Java Released With Bug Fixes, New Features.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.4.0.159_Java_pf70_(Build12070415).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc84touch

UC Browser 8.3 Alpha (7-Jun-2012): New features include; UDisk cloud based storage and the App Gallery, a new home screen tab providing quick access to UDisk, bookmark backup and restore and the Quick Reads news deader.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.3.0.154_Java_pf70_(Build12053010).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc83touch. To install it, go to db.tt/ajY88aHm with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.2.1 Production (non-Beta) (20-Apr-2012): New features include a built in RSS reader and bookmark backup and restore. See my review for more details.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.2.1.144_Java_pf70_(Build12041210).jad
Short link: db.tt/ajY88aHm. To install it, go to db.tt/ajY88aHm with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.2 Alpha (21-Mar-2012): It features many enhancements and bug fixes see my review for details. This is the latest patch release that adds swipe navigation and fixes a bug that made entering URLs on bada phones impossible:

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.2.0.132_Java_pf70_(Build12032111).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc82touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc82touch with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.0 (1-Feb-2012):

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.0.3.107_Java_pf70(Build11112416).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc8touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc8touch with your phone browser.

287 thoughts on “Latest UC Browser 9.5 (Signed Java Version) Modified to Remove the Virtual Keypad On Samsung, LG and Other Touchscreen Phones

    • Nokia-MIDlet-No-Exit: true
      Nokia-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
      Navi-Key-Hidden: true
      UseNativeTextButtons: hide
      ReverseSoftkeys: hide
      UseNativeCommands: hide
      MIDlet-Touch-Support: true
      MIDlet-ScreenMode: ROTATE
      MIDlet-Landscape-Support: true
      LGE-MIDlet-Width: 240
      LGE-MIDlet-Height: 400
      LGE-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
      LGE-MIDlet-Display-Mode: both
      ATT-MIDlet-VirtualKeypad-Use: No




      after putting this code in MANIFEST.MF on my own uc 9.5.jar.
      and after moding it. when my 9.5 install gets completed on my nokia 5130. why is showing invaild application.
      sir :(
    • You can't modify the jar file of a signed app without breaking it. When working with signed apps you can only modify the jad.

      Why don't you just use the jad file in this post. I already did the work for you :)
    • then sir how do i break signed apps for jar files?
      sir i had also done with the jad file.
      but the result was same
      :(*
    • yes that jad file worked on my n5130.
      are those modded jad files only for touch screen? sir
      sir can you post some MANIFEST.MF for non touchscreen mobile cell phones?



      thank u sir
    • The jad files should work on touch and non-touch screen phones. I don't mess with MANIFEST.MF. More trouble than it's worth. Everything I want to do can be done in the .jad.
    • Open the jar with 7-Zip. Open META-INF/MANIFEST.MF with a text editor. Change the name (MIDlet-Name). Logo will be the .png file listed on the MIDlet-1: Save MANIFEST.MF. Replace the logo .png file with yours. In the 7-ZIp File menu Close the jar.
  1. hello...my phone is samsung gt s8600 and the download link all of them shows the error message ie. certificate error expired.. pls hlp me....
  2. This application is also fullscreen no my samsung gt-s5222.

    I tried and edited jad file of uc v9.4.1 as suggested & uploaded on mydiskm.ucweb.com the edited file but didnt start instillation & says auth. certificate is expired
    pls give me suggestion how will it work! :-)
    • That's not possible.
      When you modify an app's jar file, which Handler does, the signature is no longer valid and the app needs to be resigned.
      To be able to sign apps you need to be able to convince the signing authority that you created the app and pay a fee of about $500/year. Neither I or Handler created UC browser so neither of use can get a signing certificate even if we were willing to pay.
  3. OMG THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR DOING THIS. It means so much to a guy who owns an LG 840g with that stupid fat 100-pixel arrow board covering everything up.
  4. ma mibile is samsung gt-c3222, i have already used uc browser jaba 9.1 successfully before few months but as on today if i download any version of java say 9.1 or 9.2 then, it show testing network error and many times its it starts the "Testing Netwok" but never finishes and i forcefully have to cancel it everytime .....

    HELP ME OUT
  5. Please on my uc browser for blackberry ; it keeps saying error when I click on download for something . Please can you do something about that , 'cause it is really frustrating .
    • The UC Browser versions on this page are not intended for BlackBerrys and will not work properly on them. Download the BlacKBerry version of UC Browser by visiting wap.ucweb.com with the BlackBerry's built in browser. For help with the UC Browser for BlackBerry visit the UC Browser Forum's BlacKBerry section.
  6. @Dennis..I'm using a blackberry curve 9320 ..is there any update for my phone coz I currently have uc browser 8.1 version ..when I try 2 install any version from the post..I get an erro....as it about to install.. I'm not happy with my downloading speed ..12kb maximum..
  7. Sir plz leave me a uc web for samsung e2652 im trying all uc browsers but when it starts it shows error!and where to download it
  8. sir can i get handler of uc browser and opera for my samsung java phone. I dont want any touch keypad that is displayed on the bottom of the screen. Plz help
  9. Hi dude.. I can help you...
    Try and find an android app named--
    Java runtime environment.apk..
    After u install this all java files wi work ....
    But this app is not available on google play...
    U will have to download this from a local android market.....
  10. Thanks buddie ...
    This really works...
    I want to know if we can edit any java app the same to make it comfortable for us.
    Plz help me with this matter...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>