Latest UC Browser 9.5 (Signed Java Version) Modified to Remove the Virtual Keypad On Samsung, LG and Other Touchscreen Phones

UC 91 With Virtual Keypad UC 91 Without Virtual Keypad

I did a post a while ago explaining how to modify Opera Mini’s jad file to hide the unneeded touch keypad that displays at the bottom of the screen on some touchscreen phones. The post included a link to the modified Opera Mini. I received a request asking for a copy of the latest signed Java version of UC Browser modified to hide the keypad.

The process for modifying the UC Browser or any other Java app is exactly the same as what was described in the original post:

1.Download the app’s jad file to a PC. You can get UC Browser jad files (signed or unsigned ) at http://www.ucweb.com/ucbrowser/download/

2. Open the downloaded .jad with a text editor or Windows Wordpad

3. Scroll to the bottom of the file and paste in the following lines:

Nokia-MIDlet-No-Exit: true
Nokia-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
Navi-Key-Hidden: true
UseNativeTextButtons: hide
ReverseSoftkeys: hide
UseNativeCommands: hide
MIDlet-Touch-Support: true
MIDlet-ScreenMode: ROTATE
MIDlet-Landscape-Support: true
LGE-MIDlet-Width: 240
LGE-MIDlet-Height: 400
LGE-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
LGE-MIDlet-Display-Mode: both
ATT-MIDlet-VirtualKeypad-Use: No

4. Upload the file to Dropbox.com or another file sharing service that is easy to use in your phone browser. Click here to get a free 2GB Dropbox account (by using this referral link I get an extra 250 MB of storage in my Dropbox which I thank you for).

5. Visit Dropbox with your phone browser and click the modified mini.jad link to download it to your phone.

If that didn’t work or you don’t have a PC or are just in a hurry, here’s are links to the latest signed version of the UC browser as well as some older versions.

Latest Version

UC Browser 9.5 (20-Jul-2014) The latest UC Browser release. According to UC, new features are:

  • Fixed the problem of large file sizes not being shown correctly when downloading;
  • Fixed the problem of users not being able to go to the right page by typing a page number on UC Forum.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.5 jad at:
boostapps.com/files/UC95s.jad  (Boostapps.com is a free Java ME app store that I built. I will be hosting my Java downloads there instead of WapReview.com to avoid duplication and save disk space)
Short Link: is.gd/uc95touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc95touch with your phone’s browser.

Older Versions:

UC Browser 9.4 (16-Nov-2013) The latest “full” UC Browser release. According to UC, new features are: watching Youtube now is supported on more phone models, the problem of automatically logging-out from some websites has been solved, smaller app size for a faster startup speed, and touch-screen phone models can now preview uploaded pictures Download the modified UC Browser 9.4 jad at:

wapreview.com/dwnld/uc94ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc94touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc94touch with your phone’s browser.

UC Browser 9.3 (24-Sept-2013) A “full” (non-cloud) UC Browser release. According to UC, the new features in this version are: a smaller install package,  user interface changes, increased stability and two new themes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.3 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/uc93ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc93touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc93touch with your phone’s browser.

UC Browser 9.2 (5-Aug-2013) A “full” (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features: smaller file Size, optimized night mode, new hot words search, password saving on HTTPS webpages is now supported.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.2 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UC92ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc92ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc92ts with your phone’s browser.

UC Browser 9.1 (25-Jun-2013) A “full” (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: bitmap fonts let you read  pages in Arabic, Persian, Urdu, and Hindi, even if your phone doesn’t support these languages, support for the Bengali language , support for  eMule and FTP downloads  and bug fixes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.1 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UCBrowser_V9.1.0.291_Java_pf70_(Build13062018).jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc91ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc91ts with your phone’s browser.

UC Browser 9.0 (25-Apr-2013) A “full” (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: Fast Video and Audio Playing using the UDisk cloud service,  password manager works on more sites including Facebook and GMail,  improved usability especially on touch screen phones and bug fixes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.0 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UCBrowser_V9.0.0.260_Java_pf70_(Build13042317).jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc90ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc90ts with your phone’s browser.

UC Browser 8.9 (29-Jan-2012) A “full” (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: Incognito Browsing, Improved Search Bar, Select and Copy and Optimized Text Input

Download the modified UC Browser 8.9 jad at:
dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.9.0.251_Java_pf70_%28Build13012415%29.jad

Short Link: is.gd/uc89touch To install, go to is.gd/uc89touch with your phone’s browser.

UC Browser 8.8 (25-Dec-2012) Another “full” (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: increased download speed, customizable shortcut keys and an improved File Manager.

Download the modified UC Browser 8.8 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.8.1.252_Java_pf70_%28Build12122410%29.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc88touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc88touch with your phone’s browser.

UC Browser 8.7 (7-Nov-2012) This is a “full” (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: users can switch between multiple accounts when signing in to a website, long press the OK button to invoke the Actions menu, users can save pages directly without changing the page name.

Download the modified UC Browser 8.7 jad at:
dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.7.0.218_Java_pf70_%28Build12110609%29.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc87touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc87touch with your phone’s browser.

UC Browser 8.6. (20-Sept-2012): This is a “full (non-cloud) UC Browser release.  New features in this release are: full offline download support with synchronous status shown in the download manager, you can now preview the images before uploading,  “clear all history” option before exiting UC Browser added, new options to disable the virtual keyboard, faster uploads  and display of the upload speed in KB/sec while uploading. This version uses the new user interface from the cloud version with different menus for touch screen and non touch screen phones

Download the modified UC Browser 8.6 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.6.0.199_Java_pf70_%28Build12092011%29.jad
Short link: is.gd/uc860touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc860touch with your phone browser.

UC Cloud Browser 8.5 (6-Sept-2012): This is first non-Beta version of the UC Cloud Browser, a redesign of the original UC browser optimized for smaller download size and faster page loads.   New features in this release are: new user interface with different menus for touch screen and non touch screen phones. Supports copy and paste in the URL bar and all input fields. New screen brightness setting. New share image on Facebook feature. New Game Center free game download store.

I’ve posted the modified UC Cloud Browser 8.5 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.5.0.185_Java_pf83_%28Build12082909%29.jad
Short link: is.gd/uc85touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc85touch with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.4 (23-Jul-2012):. Major changes are: simplified theme installation, the traffic statistics display is back, the link to browsing history has been moved to the top of the bookmarks page and a there’s a new Tools > Phone menu option for making phone call or send a texts from within the browser. See my review for more about 8.4: UC Browser 8.4 for Java Released With Bug Fixes, New Features.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.4.0.159_Java_pf70_(Build12070415).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc84touch

UC Browser 8.3 Alpha (7-Jun-2012): New features include; UDisk cloud based storage and the App Gallery, a new home screen tab providing quick access to UDisk, bookmark backup and restore and the Quick Reads news deader.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.3.0.154_Java_pf70_(Build12053010).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc83touch. To install it, go to db.tt/ajY88aHm with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.2.1 Production (non-Beta) (20-Apr-2012): New features include a built in RSS reader and bookmark backup and restore. See my review for more details.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.2.1.144_Java_pf70_(Build12041210).jad
Short link: db.tt/ajY88aHm. To install it, go to db.tt/ajY88aHm with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.2 Alpha (21-Mar-2012): It features many enhancements and bug fixes see my review for details. This is the latest patch release that adds swipe navigation and fixes a bug that made entering URLs on bada phones impossible:

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.2.0.132_Java_pf70_(Build12032111).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc82touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc82touch with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.0 (1-Feb-2012):

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.0.3.107_Java_pf70(Build11112416).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc8touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc8touch with your phone browser.

317 thoughts on “Latest UC Browser 9.5 (Signed Java Version) Modified to Remove the Virtual Keypad On Samsung, LG and Other Touchscreen Phones

  1. I am rosh, denis i try to modified that, but when i opend jad file with wordpad then its change into text document. And when i save the file its show text document, hw i Can modified plz reply me in details. I cant Modified plz reply fast or email me.

  2. hey denis i try to modified other version but its show and convert in text docoment plz reply how i can modified those aplicasn plz ans fast

    • I’m sorry, there was a caching issue that was causing the old version of the page to be served to mobile browsers. It should be fixed now but if not here’s a direct link to UC 9.0 modified for touchscreens: is.gd/uc90touch

  3. how can i use unlimitted uc browser?…is there a any registration or load to hve unlimitted access…coz i used uc browser half hour only and it cost php.10…

  4. :-] dennis,just want to compliment you on your site,its full of helpful information.sir,I downloaded a ton of games,3 versions of uc,one browserand opera mini.i was having very fast browsing w/the 8.9 version,but last fdw days the pages half load and just sit there.are there too many browsers there and which should I stick with (huawei U7519 ). also,it took me an hour(page by page) to get to ” newest comments.” Is there a shortcut? thanks!

    • UC 8.9 probably got corrupted. Delete it and re-install.

      The only way to find the best browser for you and your phone is trial and error. The latest one is usually the best but if you have problems with it try progressively older ones until you find one that works.
      Comments are listed newest first under each post. There’s also a link to to the ten most recent comments in the sidebar on every page of the site’s PC version.

  5. hi,new here.can anyone plz tell me the best browser version for my huawei U7519? also,most sites say “java not enabled” yet i know it is on in settings menu.(items downloaded to my apps run in java fine)

  6. it just show error nothing else ! Sir, i also reinstll uc but their is same response.! Please help me sir because i love this browser

    • There’s not much you can do other than report the issue on the UC Browser forum and hope that they fix it. Use Opera Mini or the phone’s built in browser for Facebook in the meantime.

  7. sir, actually i don’t understand what you want to say ? How can i reinstall my older software?….. Is this browser not work on my new software

  8. why uc 8.9 is not support my samsung c3312 when i start to browsing it .it show error,however it support my same handest before some days and before when i installed new software in my mobile . Please help me for browsing it again!

  9. Its run only 240×300 screen size,not in full size 240×400 (with keypad)
    my phne is lg gs500v cokkie plus…….

    • If you modified the jad and installed the app using the jad the keypad should not be there. I’m not sure what went wrong but check your work. If you can’t figure it out paste the .jad text or a link to it in a comment and I’ll take a look.

  10. Can you help me….
    am understand how to modified the jad. File……but when
    Am trying modified Facebook application for every phone version 3.0.1 it’s run normaly 240×300 screen size …….
    plz help. Or can you modified it……plz…
    thanx in advance

  11. Hello Dennis Bournique,

    I have uc browser 8.4 You told us before that u browser itself cannot play youtube movies, because that depends on the mediaplayer. First we had Android, also with a uc browser (probably an older version, but i can not remove version 8.4 now)
    But we have Meridian as mediaplayer , but also moboplayer does not work.
    Do you please have a suggestion?

    Kind regards Irene Reijnen

    • The purpose of this post was to show people how to modify apps for touchscreen. Now that you know how it’s your turn to do the work. I don’t have the time to modify apps on request for everyone.

  12. Thnx 4 replying m gona try it, bt i used it by downloading the jar file 2 the same folder wit the jad file. Open the jad file n i can instal it directly

  13. i have some pblm denis, i want more uc browser in my samsung c3312 phone and i instal various version, but all be replaced in one for same name ucbrowser. How i do now say me yar.

  14. Hello sir can you help me please i have a problem with uc browseR (8.0 to 8.9) they didn’t open in my samsung gt e2652 they show error

    • It’s a Beta. I will wait for the official final release on the main UC site.

      If you want the Beta follow the instructions in the post to create your own touch optinized version.

  15. SIR WHEN I DOWNLOADED VIDEOS OR SONGS, ETC. FROM UC BROWSER AND THEN PLAY IT I FOUND THAT VIDEOS OR MP3S BREAKING DOWN FROM MANY PLACES AND CLARITY IS ALSO NOT GOOD PLZ FIX THIS PROBLEM
    PLZ PLZZZ

    • The problem is probably due to the limited capabilities of your phone’s media player and nothing to due with UC Browser. I bet you get the same results downloading the files with the phone’s built in browser.
      I’m just a blogger and not part of the UC Browser development team so I can’t fix UC.
      Please turn off your caps lock when commenting here. It’s ugly, hard to read and makes you look like you are yelling.

  16. Sir when i play the downloaded files then vdo breaking down and when i exit to my brower then my all files remove my handset is samsang C3312 so plz modefie this ver. 8.8

    • I don’t understand what files you are trying to play or what playing files has to do with UC Browser.

      Also, what’s “VDO”?

      In any case fixing bugs in UC Browser is beyond my abilities.

    • UC Browser isn’t a video player. It tries to open videos in the phone’s native media player. So only video sites that work with the phone’s built-in browser will work in UC Browser.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *