Latest UC Browser 9.5 (Signed Java Version) Modified to Remove the Virtual Keypad On Samsung, LG and Other Touchscreen Phones

UC 91 With Virtual Keypad UC 91 Without Virtual Keypad

I did a post a while ago explaining how to modify Opera Mini's jad file to hide the unneeded touch keypad that displays at the bottom of the screen on some touchscreen phones. The post included a link to the modified Opera Mini. I received a request asking for a copy of the latest signed Java version of UC Browser modified to hide the keypad.

The process for modifying the UC Browser or any other Java app is exactly the same as what was described in the original post:

1.Download the app's jad file to a PC. You can get UC Browser jad files (signed or unsigned ) at http://www.ucweb.com/ucbrowser/download/

2. Open the downloaded .jad with a text editor or Windows Wordpad

3. Scroll to the bottom of the file and paste in the following lines:

Nokia-MIDlet-No-Exit: true
Nokia-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
Navi-Key-Hidden: true
UseNativeTextButtons: hide
ReverseSoftkeys: hide
UseNativeCommands: hide
MIDlet-Touch-Support: true
MIDlet-ScreenMode: ROTATE
MIDlet-Landscape-Support: true
LGE-MIDlet-Width: 240
LGE-MIDlet-Height: 400
LGE-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
LGE-MIDlet-Display-Mode: both
ATT-MIDlet-VirtualKeypad-Use: No

4. Upload the file to Dropbox.com or another file sharing service that is easy to use in your phone browser. Click here to get a free 2GB Dropbox account (by using this referral link I get an extra 250 MB of storage in my Dropbox which I thank you for).

5. Visit Dropbox with your phone browser and click the modified mini.jad link to download it to your phone.

If that didn't work or you don't have a PC or are just in a hurry, here's are links to the latest signed version of the UC browser as well as some older versions.

Latest Version

UC Browser 9.5 (20-Jul-2014) The latest UC Browser release. According to UC, new features are:

  • Fixed the problem of large file sizes not being shown correctly when downloading;
  • Fixed the problem of users not being able to go to the right page by typing a page number on UC Forum.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.5 jad at:
boostapps.com/files/UC95s.jad  (Boostapps.com is a free Java ME app store that I built. I will be hosting my Java downloads there instead of WapReview.com to avoid duplication and save disk space)
Short Link: is.gd/uc95touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc95touch with your phone's browser.

Older Versions:

UC Browser 9.4 (16-Nov-2013) The latest "full" UC Browser release. According to UC, new features are: watching Youtube now is supported on more phone models, the problem of automatically logging-out from some websites has been solved, smaller app size for a faster startup speed, and touch-screen phone models can now preview uploaded pictures Download the modified UC Browser 9.4 jad at:

wapreview.com/dwnld/uc94ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc94touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc94touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 9.3 (24-Sept-2013) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. According to UC, the new features in this version are: a smaller install package,  user interface changes, increased stability and two new themes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.3 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/uc93ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc93touch

To install, go to is.gd/uc93touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 9.2 (5-Aug-2013) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features: smaller file Size, optimized night mode, new hot words search, password saving on HTTPS webpages is now supported.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.2 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UC92ts.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc92ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc92ts with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 9.1 (25-Jun-2013) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: bitmap fonts let you read  pages in Arabic, Persian, Urdu, and Hindi, even if your phone doesn't support these languages, support for the Bengali language , support for  eMule and FTP downloads  and bug fixes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.1 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UCBrowser_V9.1.0.291_Java_pf70_(Build13062018).jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc91ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc91ts with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 9.0 (25-Apr-2013) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: Fast Video and Audio Playing using the UDisk cloud service,  password manager works on more sites including Facebook and GMail,  improved usability especially on touch screen phones and bug fixes.

Download the modified UC Browser 9.0 jad at:
wapreview.com/dwnld/UCBrowser_V9.0.0.260_Java_pf70_(Build13042317).jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc90ts

To install, go to is.gd/uc90ts with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 8.9 (29-Jan-2012) A "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: Incognito Browsing, Improved Search Bar, Select and Copy and Optimized Text Input

Download the modified UC Browser 8.9 jad at:
dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.9.0.251_Java_pf70_%28Build13012415%29.jad

Short Link: is.gd/uc89touch To install, go to is.gd/uc89touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 8.8 (25-Dec-2012) Another "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: increased download speed, customizable shortcut keys and an improved File Manager.

Download the modified UC Browser 8.8 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.8.1.252_Java_pf70_%28Build12122410%29.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc88touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc88touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 8.7 (7-Nov-2012) This is a "full" (non-cloud) UC Browser release. New features include: users can switch between multiple accounts when signing in to a website, long press the OK button to invoke the Actions menu, users can save pages directly without changing the page name.

Download the modified UC Browser 8.7 jad at:
dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.7.0.218_Java_pf70_%28Build12110609%29.jad
Short Link: is.gd/uc87touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc87touch with your phone's browser.

UC Browser 8.6. (20-Sept-2012): This is a "full (non-cloud) UC Browser release.  New features in this release are: full offline download support with synchronous status shown in the download manager, you can now preview the images before uploading,  "clear all history" option before exiting UC Browser added, new options to disable the virtual keyboard, faster uploads  and display of the upload speed in KB/sec while uploading. This version uses the new user interface from the cloud version with different menus for touch screen and non touch screen phones

Download the modified UC Browser 8.6 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.6.0.199_Java_pf70_%28Build12092011%29.jad
Short link: is.gd/uc860touch To install it, go to is.gd/uc860touch with your phone browser.

UC Cloud Browser 8.5 (6-Sept-2012): This is first non-Beta version of the UC Cloud Browser, a redesign of the original UC browser optimized for smaller download size and faster page loads.   New features in this release are: new user interface with different menus for touch screen and non touch screen phones. Supports copy and paste in the URL bar and all input fields. New screen brightness setting. New share image on Facebook feature. New Game Center free game download store.

I've posted the modified UC Cloud Browser 8.5 jad at: dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.5.0.185_Java_pf83_%28Build12082909%29.jad
Short link: is.gd/uc85touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc85touch with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.4 (23-Jul-2012):. Major changes are: simplified theme installation, the traffic statistics display is back, the link to browsing history has been moved to the top of the bookmarks page and a there's a new Tools > Phone menu option for making phone call or send a texts from within the browser. See my review for more about 8.4: UC Browser 8.4 for Java Released With Bug Fixes, New Features.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.4.0.159_Java_pf70_(Build12070415).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc84touch

UC Browser 8.3 Alpha (7-Jun-2012): New features include; UDisk cloud based storage and the App Gallery, a new home screen tab providing quick access to UDisk, bookmark backup and restore and the Quick Reads news deader.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.3.0.154_Java_pf70_(Build12053010).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc83touch. To install it, go to db.tt/ajY88aHm with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.2.1 Production (non-Beta) (20-Apr-2012): New features include a built in RSS reader and bookmark backup and restore. See my review for more details.

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.2.1.144_Java_pf70_(Build12041210).jad
Short link: db.tt/ajY88aHm. To install it, go to db.tt/ajY88aHm with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.2 Alpha (21-Mar-2012): It features many enhancements and bug fixes see my review for details. This is the latest patch release that adds swipe navigation and fixes a bug that made entering URLs on bada phones impossible:

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.2.0.132_Java_pf70_(Build12032111).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc82touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc82touch with your phone browser.

UC Browser 8.0 (1-Feb-2012):

dl.dropbox.com/u/4637247/UCBrowser_V8.0.3.107_Java_pf70(Build11112416).jad
Short link: is.gd/uc8touch. To install it, go to is.gd/uc8touch with your phone browser.

292 thoughts on “Latest UC Browser 9.5 (Signed Java Version) Modified to Remove the Virtual Keypad On Samsung, LG and Other Touchscreen Phones

    • UC hasn't announced a new release on their site or forum. I downloaded the current version and except for the version number it appears identical to the one posted here. Probably just a change to the paid shortcuts on the front page.

      I'll post 8.8 when it's released.
  1. Im using uc 8.6 but i cn't ply any video on youtube it shows ! Define acces point first ! Downloading speed also vry slow 3 or 4 kbps....SIR PLZ HELP ME
    • UC isn't a video player, it just passes videos to the phone's media player or browser to handle. You need to the player and/or phone's data settings.

      For the slow downloads, on many phones the built in browser is the best and fastest for downloading.
  2. There is a menu button, but the only options for text entry settings are: language, show word candi, next word Predic; t9 dictionary.
    As for the virtual keyboard...if I go into "appearance" the virtual keyboard is on "never use"...the Keyboard type is either 123abc (t9) or qwerty. I've tried both...no change...just the telephone layout.
    If I use the regular TF browser, I get qwerty...if I use the Opera Mini (that I downloaded from your site), I also get qwerty. I'm at a loss...although I could use the Opera Mini, I prefer UCBrowser.
    HELP!
    • I don't have the phone so I son't know if it's even possible to get a QWERTY keyboard. Opera has its own built in QWERTY so that's why you see it there.

      It may be that the LG 840G only displays a T9 keyboard with Java apps. I know you said that other people see QWERTY with the UC browser on the LG 840G but I looked through the comments here and I don't see anyone saying saying that specifically.
  3. I think that's the UC Browsers own keyboard. You can turn it off by setting Virtual Keyboard" to "Never Use" in UC's Menu under Settings > Display.

    That should give you the LG 840G's normal keyboard as it appears in the built in browser. I don't have the phone so I don't know if the LG keyboard is QWERTY or T9. If it's T9 in portrait, it might be QWERTY in landscape.
    --------------------------------------------------

    I've tried everything you suggested and I still can't get the qwerty keyboard. I, also, cleaned out the cache and cookies folder to avoid conflicts...and all I get is the keyboard that looks like a phone whether it's in portrait or landscape. I know it works...others have been successful, so what am I to do now?
    • Is there a menu button on the phone keyboard you get? If so press it and see if it lets you switch keyboard types.

      Also, double check that Virtual keyboard is set to "never use" in UC's settings. Don't forget to press Save after changing it.
  4. hi. i tried todownload any video or audio song in my memory card more than 50mb or 2mb . he shows me insufficent disk space but my card memory is empty . please help me.
  5. how to view ucbrowser's save pages online?
    actualy i update uc from 8.6 to 8.7 and all my save pages exits in my phone but cant find in uc. Plz help me.
    • I upgraded from 8.6 to 8.7 and my saved pages form 8.6 are still there in 8.7. In UC go to Home and click the toolbar's Downloads icon (an arrow pointing downward) and you should see them. If you don't see them, try saving a page into the same folder that you used for saved pages in 8.6 and see if that helps.
  6. If you download UCBrowser from the site (http://is.gd/uc87lg2), how do I get the qwerty keyboard? The download went well, but all I get is a keyboard like my phone and I'd have to tap everything multiple times to get the letter I want. I'd prefer a qwerty...is it possible? I used your suggested site for Opera Mini and it worked great...
    • I think that's the UC Browsers own keyboard. You can turn it off by setting Virtual Keyboard" to "Never Use" in UC's Menu under Settings > Display.

      That should give you the LG 840G's normal keyboard as it appears in the built in browser. I don't have the phone so I don't know if the LG keyboard is QWERTY or T9. If it's T9 in portrait, it might be QWERTY in landscape.
  7. hey denis. There is new update for UC. New version 8.7.1 released. Plz remove its virtual keypad. And i suggest those who want other important apps without d.pad, simply type apps name touch in google .thats it.
    • I see that the version number has changed on the UC download page. But I can't find any information about any changes on the UC site or UC Forum. I suspect that it's a minor update, possibly additional paid placements on the start page. I'd like to limit updates here to announced new releases.

      If you have more information about this release please share it here.
    • You have to understand that this is my personal blog where I write about things I've discovered and that interest me, mainly mobile browsers and browsing. It's not a free service to modify apps for you. I've shared the technique now you need to do the work yourself if you want apps that I'm not interested in.

      "Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime." Chinese proverb
  8. Meaning is the code something you can give me and then i can add it to my other apps following the rest of your instructions in this article.
    • The lines I added are:

      LGE-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad: no
      LGE-MIDlet-Display-Mode: both

      I'll update the post instructions to include those as well as fix the 8.7 download to include the new commands.
  9. denis when u add game and apps forum for samsung and lg phone yar. And plz mail me the newshunt apps modified to my email or post here plz plz.
  10. I tried the download links for the modified versions(8.7 & 8.6) as well as for the opera mini and the browsers downloaded and work on my lg840g but the keypad is still there. Any suggestions for this phone?
    • I don't have that phone but the modded versions have been reported to work with other LG touchscreen devices. Your phone probably requires a different jad attribute to hide the keyboard. I'll see if I can find out what it is and if I do I'll a post a test version for you to try.
  11. Thank you . For ths post ucbrowser 8.6 work on my lg cokkie plus, singed......!
    plz tel me how to downlod opera 4. Ful scren singed vrsn plz
  12. plz yar i want only this plz add newshunt app and tom and jerry food fight game modified here. Plz add this it is last want yar just two modified file in touch as other. Plz i really beg to u. Plz plz plz plz plz
    • The "something" can be accessed very elsiay with PHP. If you have a web page address that looks like this:index.php? month=september&name=smith&age=24Then you can access those values in PHP like this:This will print septembersmith24.As for accessing a text file, that's easy too:This will read the entire contents of the file textfile.txt into the variable $text, and then print it out for you.You can also access many databases with PHP, I highly recommend you use MySQL. It's a bit too complicated to describe here, though. There are some good references made to good books by folks above. The "Teach Yourself" series is great.
    • The files are already shared on Dropbox. You can re-share the link on Facebook or Twitter. Or you can download the jad and upload it to your own Dropbox or Plunder account if you want.
  13. now add some new touch games for samsung phone touch version. And add newshunt apps in touch version for my samsung champ deluxe phone. Plz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>